An Unfinished Changelog

Squeezing content out of everything I can get my hands on.

07. September, 2023
>> Meta >> Changelog Log: An Unfinished Changelog

Update Summary

What is this? An orderly update - with a changelog even! Where did this motivation come from? I don't know, but I like it.

This update is essentially a Quality of Life update, with three things I find worth blabbering about:

  1. Every page has a "Last Updated" date
  2. I added this Content Overview thing to this page
  3. Slightly revamped design

"Last Updated" date

A more simple thing I implemented with the help of a jekyll plugin called "jekyll-last-modified-at". I think it would help if someone's eyeing a page and keeps checking in to see if it was updated.

It's located above the nav-bar, to the right of the header.

Content Overview

An as of yet unimplemented Start page widget that would display general stats like "Things shared in Links section: 251" or "Cards in Me Words section: 15". A big problem for implementing this is my laziness to recount and update everything any time I update anything. Disregarding that I think it would be a neat feature to have.

A neat little summary to glance on to see how big this website is and what kind of content it serves. Also probably helps with keeping track of my updates.

Slight Design Overhaul

The changes I made are most visible comparing the Links page with the old and new design.

Screenshot of the Links page with the old design. Screenshot of the Links page with the new design.

< The first bother I adressed was that the nav-bar had a bright background. I don't know exactly why, but it cluttered it up more visually with the title and body of the page than with a dark background, which now seperates the header and body of the page quite nicely.

I then adressed another thing that bothered me: The current-bar (the bar with ">> Links") was kind of easy to miss, and since most of it is just empty space, it also created an unsightly large margin between the nav-bar and the content. To remedy both problems, I just decided to add another background.

One more thing of visual clutter was that the Links page was beginning with the link groups which linked to each subsection. It makes sense layout wise since it allows quick access to every part, but visually it looks better when pages begin with a paragraph that's a few lines long (examples are "About this website" or the "Me stuff" page).
So one idea I've had is to see these link groups as just an extension of the nav-bar - and thusly I gave them the dark background.

One really slick design choice I like is the position of the last modified date. Previously, I sticked it above the prime header, and although it looked kind of alright, it destroyed the visual harmony the header had beforehand. I don't know where I got the idea from, but placing it to the right, above the nav-bar, is just nice!