Changelog Log

One log to log them all

02. October, 2023
>> Meta >> Changelog Log

Changelog #05

2nd of October, 2023.
Dear Diary...

Well, it's been a while since I wrote a changelog!

I keep struggling juggling these two versions of my website (one locally on my harddrive, and one up here), as the online version feels easier to update (I just fire up the online editor, fix a typo or add a thought to something) and then forget what specific thing I updated, making me have to comb through my entire site to make sure I don't accidentally replace something when I upload my local version.

So in short, I brought parity between both versions again (with no plans on how to fix this issue) and have both rewritten/restructured the internals of the website (noteable stuff here being the rewrite of base.css which now uses an experimental coding style) and added a bit of content to it (like an upgraded Music Library, a website asset section and small additions to pages like Me Projects).

Here's a list of most stuff I changed:

This update feels like it keeps getting bigger the longer I work on it and it's satisfying. It's also quite useful to have an outdated online version and an updated local version to compare and comb through all the changes an update has.

Anyway, uh...

G'Bye, Diary *eats diary*

Changelog #04

20. June, 2023 - 17:48
SquaredPancake's start page
NeoCities_

A bigger update adding in the "Me projects" section out of nowhere — a section which has a lot more writing than most other pages, all about the many ideas I have for projects. Mostly made in one sitting from midnight to 4 AM.

I also revamped the Guestbook! It looks a bit more stylish (though not as good as I want it to look) and uses a different service called Formspree (instead of HTML Comment Box) now, which has a variety of pro's and cons:

For a bit more of a personal landmark, this update came a few days after going to a flea market and getting a cute squirrel handpuppet.

...

And also christ; making this took around 10 hours! And I worked on this consecutively (midnight - ~4AM, then waking up and continuing onwards)! That's impressive on one hand and has tired me out on another!

Changelog #03

A bit significant - Added two new subsections to the shareables gallery with templates and Neocities buttons to replace the old "General Buttons" page in misc (and save it from it's miserable existence). Also added a few more shareables and made a few more templates along that.

Oh, and fixed a few broken links on the old website.

- 30th of May, 2023 on SquaredPancake

Changelog #02

Changelog #02 and #03 are ports of comments I left under some updates in my NeoCities' activity feed because I just felt inclined to write them there and felt a bit bad for not including them here. I don't know if I'll keep making them; it just has to do about how I feel at that particular time.

I feel kind of inclined to just write the things that were added to an update under these if there was something significant enough. For this update it's mostly having added the date of last modification to every page as well as redesigning the nav-bar. Later on I also made my first stamp, opened up my Art section with it and expanded the Shareables gallery a bit. Good progress, I would say.

- Me, the 26th(?) of May, 2023

Changelog #01

Sometime after I pushed out many small updates since the Blueprint Update changelog entry, I discovered that the 'Download Site' button that was always present on the NeoCities Dashboard just disappeared! After questioning this in the MelonLand Forum, I decided that I should work on porting what was online back to my local version on my PC to keep it safe from server failures and to make periodic backups that I previously made by periodically downloading my site with the 'Download Site' button. Then, sometime after working some more on the website, I published this update; again in many small updates.

Ah, mate; I'm a bit too lazy to write somethin' proper here.

Just know that I updated the site and added a "Last updated" date to every page (visible above the nav-bar and to the right of the header) as well as reworking a bit o' the visuals.

I also made this terminal styling for a changelog I wanted to write for this update, but then was too lazy to finish writing it, so it's used for this instead (Credits to cyuucat.moe for the scanlines animation I stole).

(This terminal fits the redesign for the nav- & current-bar quite well.)

Oh, and don't forget to press CTRL + F5 to reload the cache in case anything looks wonky.

- Me on the 25th of May, 2023 at 4AM

The Blueprint Update

(In-Dev → ∞)
After a hiatus following the last update, the work behind the scenes for this update really began in late December 2022 and periodically throughout January 2023. Due to my excellent qualities in doing stuff reliably the local version of my website was quite an unfinished mess, so I opted to upload things that were finished in many small updates while still keeping the unfinished parts behind the scene.

Well huh, this is going to be interesting...

I've been tinkering on an update for a while, but it's all a blurry mess of unfinished stuff in which I've lost focus on what to work on.

So I'll do many little updates to slowly bring in the things that are finished while still leaving that out which isn't.

Let's see how long this thing will last and how far I'll get. I have no idea what to expect of doing this.

Maybe I can get a consistent styleguide now that I'm rewriting the code directly...

Not soon after though, I adopted the style of quick little updates and mostly added new little fixes nearly daily for a bit of time.

16th Mar, 2023: Release of the "Me Words" subsection. (Originally words was already uploaded as an unfinished page only accessible through the NeoCities activity feed)

The SimpleSuite Update

(Probably uploaded the morning of the 28th January 2022)
The update with which I launched my second website. I worked on it on-and-off in probably January of 2022, with the last batch of work being done by pulling an allnighter because I was really motivated to work on my website. I felt really happy finally releasing it that morning, likening the feeling I had to the last hours of a game jam in an Activity Feed post I made on my NeoCities Profile of which I'm quite ashamed of. I think I even thought to myself as I was writing it that I would probably be ashamed of it later, but then thought something along the lines of "eh, I don't care :D" before I published it.
I adore that reaction from me.

The update itself had no official update notes, but from what I remember, these were some round-about changes I made compared to the version before:

  • Maybe did some more work on the old website before I decided to give the idea of a new website a shot?
  • Started working on this new website up to a presentable version
    • This includes making the new styling using CSS, making up the site structure (like the nav-bar up above and what websites and subsections should broadly exist)

Humble Beginnings

(08th Oct, 2021)
x days after I created my website on NeoCities, this was my first ever update.
With this website and my HTML/CSS skills still in it's infancy, I began updating the website through the online NeoCities Editor (instead of the more complicated setup I've adopted now), just making thing after thing that I wanted to make.